Alkali Reactivity of Aggregates and Concretes

Alkali-reactive aggregates in concrete may cause expansion due to a damaging alkali-silica reaction (ASR), resulting in serious cracking. The BAW's construction materials laboratory conducts special laboratory tests to prevent such damages from ocurring in new construction or repair measures or to determine the residual reactivity of constructions already damaged.

If the concrete contains materials that are prone to a damaging ASR, i.e. materials with a higher alkali content and alkali-reactive rocks, waterway structures are significantly more likely to exhibit this reaction due to the ever-present moisture (solid structural elements, exposure to water) than e.g. engineering structures in building construction. Even minor previous damages, e.g. resulting from cracks caused by restraints due to hydration heat, can trigger a damaging ASR in the long term, even if the aggregates in question show only low reactivity (picture 1).

Therefore, to prevent any such damages, additional suitability tests following the alkali guideline issued by the German Committe for Reinforced Concrete (DAfStb) are performed whenever a material is suspected of being alkali-reactive (e.g. when using specific aggregates that cannot be clearly assessed according to the relevant regulations). For these tests, specimens are manufactured, using the planned concrete formulations, and kept for 9 months in a fog chamber at a temperature of 40°C (picture 2). During that time, data is gathered, not only on obvious damages (formation of cracks, gel exudation) but also on expansions (picture 3) and changes in the structure (relativ elastic modulus).

If concrete structures already exhibit damages with the typical ASR-related features, core samples are obtained from the damaged structures and exposed to a fog chamber (40°C) to accelerate the reaction; thus it is possible to identify the cause and degree of the damage as well as the residual potential expansion of the concrete. In addition to the above-mentioned evaluation procedures, any potential losses in strength are immediately rated by determining the residual strength after exposure to the fog chamber. These examinations are necessary for assessing bearing capacity and serviceability as well as possible repair measures, if required.

Alkali­reaktivität von Gesteins­körnungen und Betonen (Baustoffe)

Bei Vorhandensein alkaliempfindlicher Gesteinskörnungen im Beton können Treibreaktionen infolge einer schädigenden Alkali-Kieselsäure-Reaktion (AKR) auftreten, die zu massiven Rissbildungen führen. Um solche Schäden bei Neubau- und Instandsetzungsmaßnahmen zu vermeiden oder das Restreaktionspotenzial bereits geschädigter Bauwerke zu bestimmen, werden im Baustofflabor der BAW spezielle Laborprüfungen durchgeführt.

Sofern die stofflichen Voraussetzungen im Beton für eine schädigende AKR, also erhöhter Alkaligehalt und alkaliempfindliche Gesteine, gegeben sind, ist bei Wasserbauwerken die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer solchen Reaktion aufgrund des ständigen Feuchteangebots (massige Bauteile, Wasserbeaufschlagung) deutlich höher als beispielsweise bei Ingenieurbauwerken des Hochbaus. Bereits geringe Vorschädigungen, z. B. aus Rissen infolge Zwangsspannungen bei abfließender Hydratationswärme, können auch bei nur schwach reagierenden Gesteinskörnungen langfristig eine schädigende AKR initiieren (Bild 1).

Um Schäden zu vermeiden, werden daher bei jedem Verdacht auf Alkaliempfindlichkeit (z. B. bei Verwendung bestimmter Gesteinskörnungen, die laut Regelwerk nicht eindeutig bewertet werden können) erweiterte Eignungsuntersuchungen in Anlehnung an die Alkali-Richtlinie des DAfStb durchgeführt. Dazu werden mit den geplanten Betonrezepturen Probekörper hergestellt und für 9 Monate in einer 40°C-Nebelkammer gelagert (Bild 2). Während der Lagerung werden neben augenscheinlichen Schadensmerkmalen (Rissbildung, Gelausscheidungen) die Dehnungen (Bild 3) und Änderungen des inneren Gefügezustands (relativer E-Modul) erfasst.

Liegen bei Betonbauwerken bereits Schäden mit AKR-typischen Schadensbildern vor, werden zur Ermittlung der Schadensursache, des Schadensausmaßes sowie des noch im Beton vorhandenen Treibreaktionspotenzials Bohrproben aus den geschädigten Bauwerken entnommen und ebenfalls einer reaktionsbeschleunigenden Lagerung in der 40°C-Nebelkammer ausgesetzt. Zusätzlich zu den genannten Bewertungsverfahren erfolgt eine direkte Bewertung evtl. Festigkeitsverluste durch die Bestimmung der Restfestigkeit nach der Nebelkammerlagerung. Diese Untersuchungen sind notwendige Voraussetzungen für die Bewertung der Tragfähigkeit und Gebrauchstauglichkeit sowie evtl. Instandsetzungsmöglichkeiten.