Development of Hydration Heat in Concrete

The setting of concrete leads to the release of hydration heat which can result in a significant temperature increase, particularly in structural elements. This reaction causes massive stresses which, in turn, may lead to the formation of cracks in the concrete. The resulting temperature difference developed in the process is of particular importance.

The BAW's Supplementary Technical Contract Conditions for Hydraulic Engineering, Division 215 - Hydraulic Structures Made of Concrete or Reinforced Concrete ("Zusätzliche Technische Vertragsbedingungen - Wasserbau, Leistungsbereich 215 (ZTV-W LB 215)") account for this phenomenon by limiting the quasi adiabatic temperature increase in concrete and thus the resulting temperature in the structural component. The quasi adiabatic temperature increase is used in the assessment of thermal restraint due to hydration heat.

Various test methods are suitable for recording the temperature increase. They can generally be categorized into on-site tests on the one hand, and laboratory tests on the other hand. As a rule, contractors prove compliance with the requirements according to the ZTV-W LB 215 for concretes to be used in solid structural components by on-site temperature measurements performed on large-format insulated concrete blocks with an edge length of 2 m (picture 1). The provisions of the ZTV-W LB 215 detail the boundary conditions for the test. It can be assumed that this test set-up fullfils quasi adiabatic boundary conditions. It also takes account of the influences the manufacturing process has on the concrete, i.e. influences relating to production, transport and casting.

In the BAW's construction materials laboratory the adiabatic temperature increase of concrete is measured - as part of the inspection tests performed by the client - with an adiabatic concrete calorimeter (picture 2). Such devices are not widely available on the market; the BAW currently has two devices that are the products of in-house development work.

The concrete's temperature is recorded and evaluated over a 7-day period, both in the on-site test performed on the concrete block and in the adiabatic calorimeter (picture 3).

Hydratations­wärme­entwicklung von Beton (Baustoffe)

Die mit der Erhärtung des Betons einhergehende Freisetzung der Hydratationswärme kann insbesondere bei massigen Bauteilen zu einem deutlichen Temperaturanstieg im Bauteil führen. Hieraus resultieren Zwangsspannungen, eine Rissbildung im Beton kann die Folge sein. Der entstehenden Temperaturdifferenz kommt hierbei eine besondere Bedeutung zu.

Dies wird in den Zusätzlichen Technischen Vertragsbedingungen - Wasserbau, Leistungsbereich 215 (ZTV-W LB 215) durch eine Begrenzung der quasiadiabatischen Temperaturerhöhung des Betons und der resultierenden Bauteiltemperatur berücksichtigt. Die quasiadiabatische Temperaturerhöhung findet Eingang in die Bemessung auf frühen Zwang.

Zur Erfassung der Temperaturerhöhung sind verschiedene Untersuchungsmethoden anwendbar, welche prinzipiell nach Baustellen- und Laborversuche unterschieden werden können. Der Nachweis der Einhaltung der Anforderungen der ZTV-W LB 215 für Betone, welche für massige Bauteilen eingesetzt werden sollen, erfolgt seitens des Auftragnehmers im Regelfall durch Temperaturmessungen an großformatigen, mit einer Wärmedämmung versehenen Betonblöcken mit einer Kantenlänge von 2 m auf der Baustelle (Bild 1). Die einzuhaltenden Versuchsrandbedingungen werden in den ZTV-W LB 215 beschrieben. In dieser Versuchsanordnung kann von quasiadiabatischen Randbedingungen ausgegangen werden. Zudem werden herstellungsbedingten Einflüsse aus Betonproduktion, Transport und Einbau des Betons hierbei berücksichtigt.

Im Rahmen von Kontrollprüfungen durch den Auftraggeber wird die adiabatische Temperaturerhöhung des Betons im Baustofflabor der BAW durch Untersuchungen mit einem adiabatischen Betonkalorimeter überprüft (Bild 2). Derartige Geräte sind am Markt nur in geringer Anzahl verfügbar. Die BAW verfügt derzeit über zwei Eigenentwicklungen.

Sowohl während der Versuchsdurchführung am Betonblock als auch im adiabatischen Kalorimeter wird die Betontemperatur über einen Zeitraum von sieben Tagen aufgezeichnet und ausgewertet (Bild 3).

Methoden Bautechnik