Infrastructure Management & Architecture

The Infrastructure Management group of Section B4 ‘Infrastructure Management and Architecture’ uses modern infrastructure management tools to assist the Federal Waterways and Shipping Administration (WSV) in managing its portfolio of structures. Its principal task is to compile and prepare information for decision-makers, to enable them to reach objective decisions taking account of the portfolio as a whole.

Current, comprehensive and high quality data on the portfolio of structures must be available for this purpose. The Section advises the WSV regarding the establishment of appropriate databases and in connection with data entry, quality assurance and further development. Up-to-date information on the condition of each structure is collected in the framework of structural inspection activities. Amongst other things, this refers to Administrative Regulation VV-WSV 2101 (Structural Inspection) and the WSVPruf software, which was developed with major support from the section, as well as to the BAW Codes of Practice on the Section’s field of work that are issued to provide technical assistance. Models are developed in order to forecast the future condition of structures and identify when intervention is reasonable from a technological point of view. Alongside pragmatic approaches for estimating the projected repair costs in the short term, the various databases which exist for invitations to tender, contract awards and billing, asset accounting and controlling will be linked together via interfaces as a precondition of long-term assessments. The Section’s activities also include interface design and monitoring the implementation of the central installations.

Finally, this information must be linked to decision-making support. The Section therefore investigates risk approaches for infrastructure. In addition to calculating the probability of occurrence of incidents requiring structure-related information exceeding the scope of the structural inspection, it is also essential to consider the degree of damage which results if such an incident occurs. The network, or its individual corridors where performance is determined by the weakest link in the chain, is a similarly relevant aspect. This work is carried out in cooperation with universities as well as in the context of the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) expert network.

The Architecture group of Section B4 ‘Infrastructure Management and Architecture’ provides expert opinions to the offices of the WSV and the BMVI for the performance of fundamental design tasks and for dealing with architectural issues. Apart from contributing state-of-the-art input on energy efficiency and sustainability, the standardization of functional buildings like control centres and branch offices plays a prominent role. Modular construction kits allow adequate consideration to be given to individual needs or to the urban development context and the surrounding countryside. Current construction work is likewise supported as far as possible – generally during work phases 1 to 3.

Building Information Modelling (BIM) for hydraulic structures represents another priority theme. Section B4’s architectural concepts are developed with the help of 3D models (little bim ). These models/visualizations permit optimal control as well as more reliable decisions in every project phase and simultaneously make the concepts easier to understand. They can also be utilized for energy and structural studies.

Furthermore, the standards established under the “BIM at the WSV” pilot project will ensure the realization of the BMVI’s “Road Map for Digital Design and Construction” for the German federal waterways. Approaches for applying BIM throughout the lifecycle of the structures concerned are being developed concurrently.

Structural Engineering Topics

Erhaltung und Hochbau

Der Bereich Erhaltung des Referats 'Erhaltung und Hochbau' (B4) unterstützt die Wasserstraßen- und Schifffahrtsverwaltung (WSV) bei der Verwaltung ihres Bauwerksbestandes mit modernen Werkzeugen des Infrastrukturmanagements. Die Hauptaufgabe besteht darin, Informationen für Entscheidungsträger zusammen zu stellen und aufzubereiten, so dass diese in die Lage versetzt werden, objektive Entscheidungen unter Berücksichtigung des gesamten Bestandes zu treffen.

Die Basis sind Daten über den Bauwerksbestand, die aktuell, umfassend und in hoher Qualität zur Verfügung stehen müssen. Das Referat berät die WSV bei Aufstellung, Füllung, Qualitätssicherung und Weiterentwicklung der entsprechenden Datenbanken. Im Rahmen der Bauwerksinspektion werden aktuelle Zustandsinformationen über die Bauwerke gesammelt. In diesem Kontext gehören die Verwaltungsvorschrift VV-WSV 2101 Bauwerksinspektion und die Software WSVPruf, deren Entwicklungen maßgeblich begleitet wurden, sowie die zur fachlichen Unterstützung der Inspektion aufgestellten BAW-Merkblätter zum Arbeitsgebiet des Referats. Mit Hilfe von aufgestellten Modellen können die zukünftige Entwicklung des Bauwerkszustandes prognostiziert werden und technisch begründete Eingreifzeitpunkte ermittelt werden. Zur Abschätzung des Instandsetzungsumfangs wird neben pragmatischen Ansätzen, die kurzfristig Abschätzungen ermöglichen, langfristig eine Verknüpfung der vorhandenen Datenbanksysteme für Ausschreibung, Vergabe und Abrechnung sowie der Anlagenbuchhaltung und des Controllings über Schnittstellen verfolgt. Die Begleitung der Umsetzung der Zentralinstallationen sowie die Gestaltung der Schnittstellen fallen in das Arbeitsgebiet des Referats.

Abschließend müssen diese Informationen mit Entscheidungshilfen verknüpft werden. Dazu beschäftigt sich das Referat mit Risikoansätzen für Infrastrukturbauwerke. Neben der Bestimmung der Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeiten von Schadensereignissen, die über die Bauwerksinspektion hinaus gehende Informationen über die Bauwerke benötigen, spielt dabei die Berücksichtigung des Schadensausmaßes bei Eintritt eines Schadens eine maßgebende Rolle. Die Betrachtung des Netzwerks bzw. einzelner Korridore, bei denen das schwächste Glied in der Kette die Leistungsfähigkeit bestimmt, ist dabei ebenfalls von großer Bedeutung. Die Bearbeitung erfolgt in Kooperation mit Hochschulen und im Rahmen des Expertennetzwerks des BMVI.

Der Bereich Hochbau des Referats 'Erhaltung und Hochbau' (B4) berät die Dienststellen der WSV und das BMVI bei der Bearbeitung von gestalterischen Grundsatzaufgaben und hochbaulichen Fragestellungen. Neben der Berücksichtigung aktueller Entwicklungen zu den Themen Energieeffizienz und Nachhaltigkeit spielt dabei die Standardisierung von funktionalen Gebäuden wie Leitzentralen und Außenbezirken eine vordringliche Rolle. Modulare Baukästen ermöglichen dabei eine genügende Anpassung an die individuellen Bedürfnisse sowie den städtebaulichen Kontext bzw. an das sie umgebende Landschaftsbild. Dabei werden auch im Rahmen der Möglichkeiten aktuelle Baumaßnahmen – in der Regel von Leistungsphase 1 bis 3 – begleitet.

Ein weiterer Themenschwerpunkt ist Building Information Modeling (BIM) für den Bereich der Verkehrswasserbauwerke. Das Referat B4 entwickelt seine Hochbaukonzepte anhand von 3D-Modellen (Little BIM). Diese Modelle/Visualisierungen bieten eine optimale Kontrolle und Entscheidungssicherheit in jeder Projektphase und unterstützen die Verständlichkeit der Konzepte. Des Weiteren können diese für energetische und bauphysikalische Untersuchungen herangezogen werden.

Darüber hinaus werden im Rahmen des Pilotprojekts „BIM in der WSV“ Standards geschaffen, die eine Umsetzung des Stufenplans „Digitales Bauen“ des BMVI für den Bereich der Bundeswasserstraßen sicherstellen. Parallel werden Ansätze für die Anwendung von BIM im gesamten Lebenszyklus der Bauwerke verfolgt.

Themen Bautechnik