Cooperation Partners

In its work the Federal Waterways Engineering and Research Institute can rely on close cooperation with capable partners. Together we form a strong network for the waterways..

Technical-biological bank protection measures
On the project site the BAW and BfG jointly provide information on the development of alternative methods of bank protection for waterways.
Arbeitsgemeinschaft der Ressortforschungseinrichtungen
The BAW is a member of the association of government-funded research agencies. The combination of our research, scientific services and practice-related consultancy services for public administration and politics positions us an independent and integral component of the German scientific system.
BMVI Network of Experts
Under the guiding theme of Knowledge – Ability – Action, seven departmental research facilities and executive agencies of the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) formed a Network of Experts in 2016. Their objective is to address urgent transport questions of the future through innovations in the areas of adapting to climate change, environmental protection and risk management. In doing so, the Network of Experts builds directly on the guiding principles of the Federal Government and its sustainability and high-tech strategy.
The Federal Institute of Hydrology (bfg)
The Federal Institute of Hydrology (BfG) advises the Federal Ministries (BMVI and BMU among others) and the Federal Waterways and Shipping Administration (WSV) with regard to the utilisation and management of the federal waterways.
The Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek
The BAW is a partner of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek. The Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek links the digitised content of cultural and research institutions across Germany and provides a platform for centralised access. It offers open online access to digitised artworks, books, music, monuments, films, documents and many other treasures of German culture and scholarship. The Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek acts as a network, linking and presenting the digitised content of its partners, and contributes to the democratisation of knowledge and resources.
GESINUS
The GESINUS (GErman SINo Unsteady Sediment Transport) group is a network of mostly German-speaking scientists in the field of sediment transport. Its aim is to encourage the cross-institutional exchange of experience between junior scientists and established colleagues. This should promote effective cooperation in this scientifically complex and interdisciplinary field with a high application potential for society.
Klima Campus Hamburg
Hamburg city-wide Klima Campus Hamburg brings together universities, research institutes and authorities on the subject climate.
Blaues Band Deutschland
Germany’s waterways shall again become a body of water close to nature! This is the aim of the Federal German Government’s programme “Blaues Band Deutschland”, a joint initiative of the Federal Ministry of Transport and the Federal Ministry of Environment.
Kuratorium für Forschung im Küsteningenieurwesen (KFKI)
The KFKI is a joint body run by the federal government and the Land governments on Germany's coasts whose mission is to coordinate and manage research in coastal engineering.
PIANC
PIANC is one of the longest established technical and scientific associations acting worldwide in the field of port and waterway construction and navigation in maritime and inland waterways as well as sport and leisure boating.
Scour and Erosion
The BAW supports international cooperation to geotechnical issues with a range of information on the topics of scour and erosion. For the Technical Committee 213 (TC 213) of the International Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering (ISSMGE) will be provided a public information platform for the work of the Panel.
Telemac
Telemac is an open source software package in the field of free surface flow. It has numerous applications in both river and maritime hydraulics and has become one of the major standards in its field. Initially built at Electricité de France R&D, TELEMAC is now managed by a consortium of six core users including BAW.

Kooperations­partner

Die Bundesanstalt für Wasserbau kann für ihre Arbeit auf die enge Zusammenarbeit mit leistungsfähigen Partnern bauen. Gemeinsam bilden wir ein starkes Netzwerk für die Wasserstraßen. Hier eine kleine Auswahl unserer aktuellen Kooperationspartner.

Alternative technisch-biologische Ufersicherungen an Binnenwasserstraßen
Auf der Projektseite informieren BAW und BfG gemeinsam über die Entwicklung von alternativen Ufersicherungsmethoden für Verkehrswasserstraßen.
Arbeitsgemeinschaft der Ressortforschungseinrichtungen
Die BAW ist ein Mitglied im Verbund der Ressortforschungseinrichtungen. Mit unserer Kombination von Forschung, wissenschaftlicher Dienstleistung und praxisbezogener Beratung für Verwaltung und Politik sind wir ein eigenständiger und integraler Bestandteil des deutschen Wissenschaftssystems.
Bundesanstalt für Gewässerkunde (bfg)
Die Bundesanstalt für Gewässerkunde (BfG) berät die Bundesministerien (BMVI, BMU u.a.) sowie die Wasserstraßen- und Schifffahrtsverwaltung (WSV) in Bezug auf die Nutzung und Bewirtschaftung der Bundeswasserstraßen.
Die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek
Die BAW ist Partner der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek. Die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek vernetzt die digitalen Bestände der Kultur- und Wissenschaftseinrichtungen in Deutschland und macht sie zentral zugänglich. Sie bietet allen Menschen über das Internet freien Zugang zu digitalisierten Kunstwerken, Büchern, Musikstücken, Denkmälern, Filmen, Urkunden und vielen anderen Schätzen der deutschen Kultur und Wissenschaftseinrichtungen. Die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek fungiert als Netzwerk, sie verlinkt und präsentiert die digitalen Angebote ihrer Partner und leistet einen Beitrag zur Demokratisierung von Wissen und Ressourcen.
GESINUS
Die GESINUS (GErman SINo Unsteady Sediment Transport) Gruppe ist ein überwiegend deutschsprachiges Netzwerk von Wissenschaftlern auf dem Gebiet des Sedimenttransports. Ziel ist es, den institutionsübergreifenden Erfahrungsaustausch zwischen Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und etablierten Kolleginnen und Kollegen zu stärken. Damit soll die effektive Zusammenarbeit auf diesem wissenschaftlich komplexen und interdisziplinären Gebiet mit hohem gesellschaftlichen Anwendungspotenzial gefördert werden.
Klima Campus Hamburg
Der KlimaCampus Hamburg bringt Universitäten, Forschungseinrichtungen und Behörden hamburgweit zum Thema Klima zusammen.
Blaues Band Deutschland
Deutschlands Wasserstraßen sollen wieder naturnaher werden! Das ist das Ziel des Bundesprogramms „Blaues Band Deutschland“, einer gemeinsamen Initiative von Bundesverkehrsministerium und Bundesumweltministerium.
Kuratorium für Forschung im Küsteningenieurwesen (KFKI)
Das KFKI ist eine gemeinsame Einrichtung des Bundes und der Küstenländer zur Koordination und Steuerung der Forschung im Küsteningenieurwesen.
PIANC
PIANC ist eine der ältesten weltweit tätigen technisch-wissenschaftlichen Vereinigungen des Hafen- und Wasserstraßenbaus und der Schifffahrt im See- und Binnenbereich einschließlich Sport- und Freizeitschifffahrt.
Scour and Erosion
Die BAW unterstützt die internationale Zusammenarbeit zu geotechnischen Fragestellungen mit einem Informationsangebot zu den Themen Kolke und Erosion. Für das Technische Komitee 213 (TC 213) der Internationalen Gesellschaft für Bodenmechanik und Geotechnik (ISSMGE) wird eine öffentlich zugängliche Informationsplattform für die Arbeit des Gremiums bereitgestellt.
Telemac
Telemac ist ein open source Software Paket zur Berechnung von Strömungen mit freier Oberfläche. Es kommt weltweit sowohl im Binnenbereich als auch in maritimen Gebieten zum Einsatz und konnte sich als eines der Standardwerkzeuge etablieren. Ursprünglich von der Electricité de France F&E entwickelt, wird Telemac nun von einem Konsortium aus sechs Kernanwendern, darunter die BAW, weiterentwickelt.