Geotechnical field tests

Field tests include alongside direct ground explorations (borings and trial pits), indirect exploration methods using sounding apparatus, as well as geophysical and seismic measurements. The indirect methods make it possible to explore the condition of the ground while causing only minimum disturbance, if any, to the ground structure.

Direct ground exploration

Direct ground exploration is usually contracted out to suitable companies while the Federal Waterways and Shipping Offices are responsible for supervision. Well drilling experts from BAW carry out random checks. In special cases, driven core sounding and hollow stem auger drilling is carried out by BAW staff.

Indirect exploration methods

For indirect exploration, field tests are carried out partly by BAW and partly by external companies to obtain results that allow conclusions to be drawn about the structure of the ground and its properties. BAW uses the following geotechnical equipment and methods:

  • Dynamic probing light (DHL)
  • Dynamic probing heavy (DPH)
  • (modified) standard penetration test (BDP)
  • Cone penetration test (CPT)
  • Flat dilatometer
  • Air pressure probing
  • Field vane test
  • In-situ determination of density
  • Freeze core sampling
  • Plate Load test
  • Dynamic plate load test

Geophysical measurements

Geophysical measurements are used to establish soil models or investigate geological and anthropogenic disturbance zones and bodies. The appropriate deployment of geophysical methods depends on the presence of contrasts in the physical parameters of the ground (density, specific electrical resistance, dielectric constant, velocity of seismic waves, etc.)

The following methods are used:

  • Geoelectric methods
  • Seismic methods
  • Georadar
  • Borehole geophysical methods

Geodynamic field tests

BAW has developed low-cost field tests and analysis procedures for replacing elaborate and expensive methods such as trial pile driving and trial detonations. These consist of:

  • Simulating pile hammer
  • Simulating vibratory driving
  • Underwater trial detonations for simulation the vibrations caused by detonation for the demolition of structures under water

Geotechnische Feldversuche

Felduntersuchungen umfassen neben den direkten Baugrundaufschlüssen (Bohrungen und Schürfe) indirekte Aufschlussmethoden mit Sondiergeräten und geophysikalischen Messungen. Die indirekten Verfahren erlauben eine Erfassung des Zustandes des Baugrunds ohne oder mit vernachlässigbar geringer Störung desselben.

Direkte Baugrundaufschlüsse

Direkte Baugrundaufschlüsse werden in der Regel an geeignete Unternehmen vergeben. Die Bauaufsicht wird von den Wasserstraßen- und Schifffahrtsämtern wahrgenommen. Fachliche Stichprobenkontrollen erfolgen durch Brunnenbohr-Fachpersonal der BAW. In besonderen Fällen werden Rammkernsondierungen und Hohlbohr-Schneckenbohrungen von Mitarbeitern der BAW ausgeführt.

Indirekte Aufschlussmethoden

Bei indirekten Aufschlussmethoden werden teilweise von der BAW, teilweise von Fremdfirmen Feldversuche durchgeführt, aus deren Ergebnissen Rückschlüsse auf den Aufbau des Baugrunds und seine Eigenschaften gezogen werden können. Die BAW nutzt folgende geotechnische Untersuchungsgeräte und Verfahren:

  • Leichte Rammsonde (DPL)
  • Schwere Rammsonde (DPH)
  • Bohrlochrammsonde (BDP)
  • Drucksonde (CPT)
  • Flat-Dilatometer
  • Luftdrucksonde
  • Feldflügelsonde
  • Dichtebestimmung in situ
  • Gefrierkernentnahme
  • Lastplatte
  • Dynamische Lastplatte

Geophysikalische Messungen

Geophysikalische Methoden werden eingesetzt um Baugrundmodelle aufstellen zu können, bzw. geologische und anthropogene Störungszonen und Körper zu erkunden. Die notwendige Voraussetzung für den sinnvollen Einsatz geophysikalischer Methoden ist das Vorhandensein von Kontrasten der physikalischen Materialparameter im Untergrund (Dichte, spezifischer elektrischer Widerstand, Dielektrizitätszahl, Geschwindigkeit seismischer Wellen etc.).

Folgende Verfahren werden eingesetzt:

  • Geoelektrik
  • Seismik
  • Georadar
  • Bohrlochgeophysik

Geodynamische Feldversuche

In der BAW wurden kostengünstige Feldversuche und Auswertungsverfahren entwickelt, die aufwändige und teuere Maßnahmen wie Proberammungen und Probesprengungen ersetzen können. Im einzelnen werden durchgeführt:

  • Simulation von Schlagrammungen
  • Simulation von Vibrationsrammungen
  • Unterwasserversuchssprengungen zur Simulation der Erschütterungen bei Abbruchsprengungen von Bauwerken im Wasser