Geotechnical measurements

Geotechnical measurements (static, dynamic, hydraulic) serve on the one hand to monitor earthworks and structures after completion or during new construction work. On the other hand, they are indispensable when designing building structures on the basis of the observation method, when numerical predictions for various stages of construction progress are compared with real behaviour. It is thus possible to optimize the on-going computing steps.

Geostatic measurements

Standard measurements include the loading tests on piles and anchors as stipulated in the standards. Measurements are also carried out at slopes, retaining structures and foundations for the preservation of evidence and when using the observational method. Measurements at structures, foundation elements, in the ground and on models can be useful for design in cases where neither theoretical principles nor practical experience is available to provide reliable, economic solutions for geotechnical problems in waterways engineering.

Geohydraulic measurements

Geohydraulic measurements are needed both for ascertaining the existing groundwater conditions and for forecasting changes caused by work carried out in the federal waterways in the framework of planning approval procedures or hydrogeological expert opinions, for the conservation of groundwater evidence, for ascertaining groundwater pressure and current loads on concrete and earthwork structures or excavation pits, and for monitoring building structures.
more ...

Geodynamic measurements

Geodynamic measurements are used to ascertain the emission, propagation and impact of vibrations caused by construction work and operation at and on waterways. Vibrations in waterways are generated for example when installing sheet piling, during loosening and demolition blasting, during chiselling work, during surface and in-depth compaction of the ground, from propulsion systems of vessels, from vessel impact when mooring and from stationary systems such as pumps and machines, together with the flow forces, e.g. at locks.

Measuring the thickness of sheet piles

Non-destructive methods using ultrasound equipment are carried out to assess the stability and serviceability of sheet piling structures. The measuring results are used to estimate the residual service life of existing structures (stability) and to forecast the point in time of the first signs of rust perforation (serviceability).

Geotechnische Messungen

Geotechnische Messungen (statisch, dynamisch, hydraulisch) dienen zum einen zur Überwachung von Erd- und Massivbauwerken nach Fertigstellung oder während neuer Baumaßnahmen. Zum anderen sind sie bei der Bemessung von Bauwerken unter Anwendung der Beobachtungsmethode unverzichtbar, bei der mit numerischen Verfahren erhaltene Prognosen für verschiedene Stadien des Baufortschritts mit dem wirklichen Verhalten verglichen werden. Dadurch lassen sich die weiteren Rechenschritte optimieren.

Geostatische Messungen

Zu den Standardmessungen gehören die in den Normen geregelten Probebelastungen an Pfählen und Ankern. Darüber hinaus werden Messungen an Böschungen, Stützbauwerken und Gründungen zur Beweissicherung und in der Anwendung der Beobachtungsmethode durchgeführt. In vielen Fällen, in denen weder vorhandene theoretische Grundlagen noch bisherige praktische Erfahrungen sichere und wirtschaftliche Lösungen für geotechnische Probleme im Verkehrswasserbau liefern, können Messungen an Bauwerken, Gründungselementen und im Boden sowie an Modellen eine Hilfe bei der Bemessung sein.

Geohydraulische Messungen

Geohydraulische Messungen werden sowohl zur Erfassung der bestehenden Grundwasserverhältnisse als Grundlage für die Prognose der Veränderungen durch Maßnahmen an Bundeswasserstraßen im Rahmen von Planfeststellungsverfahren oder hydrogeologischen Gutachten, zur Grundwasserbeweissicherung, zur Ermittlung der Grundwasserdruck- und Strömungsbelastung von Beton- und Erdbauwerken oder Baugruben und zur Bauwerksüberwachung benötigt.
mehr ...

Geodynamische Messungen

Geodynamische Messungen werden eingesetzt bei der Emission, der Ausbreitung und den Auswirkungen von Erschütterungen aus Baumaßnahmen und betrieblichen Vorgängen an und auf Wasserstraßen. Erschütterungen an Wasserstraßen entstehen z. B. beim Einbringen von Spundwänden, bei Lockerungs- und Abbruchsprengungen, bei Meißelarbeiten, bei der Oberflächen- und Tiefenverdichtung des Baugrundes, aus dem Schifffahrtssbetrieb durch den Antrieb, durch Schiffsstoß beim Anlegen und durch stationäre Anlagen wie Pumpen, Maschinen sowie durch Strömungsvorgänge z. B. in Schleusen.

Spundwanddickenmessung

Zur Beurteilung der Standsicherheit und der Gebrauchtauglichkeit von Spundwandbauwerken werden zerstörungsfreie Prüfungen mittels Ultraschall durchgeführt. Anhand der Messergebnisse wird die Restnutzungsdauer bestehender Bauwerke eingeschätzt (Standsicherheit), und es werden Prognosen hinsichtlich des Zeitpunktes erster Durchrostungen (Gebrauchstauglichkeit) erstellt.

Methoden Geotechnik