Groundwater models

The basis for calculating groundwater and seepage flows is their description using mathematical models. Numerical computational methods based on the finite element method (FEM) or the finite difference method (FDM) offer a suitable range of instruments for dealing with complex geohydraulic issues. These computational models enable the spatial variability of the ground and external inflows as well as the change in the water saturation conditions to be taken into account. Computational groundwater flow models are used to investigate a wide range of issues, including:

  • to determine the impact of construction measures in waterways on the large-scale groundwater conditions,
  • to search for alternatives for minimising unwanted impacts of construction measures on the existing groundwater system,
  • to ascertain the forces resulting from groundwater flow on the ground and on the structure and
  • to compare suitable groundwater drainage or relief measures for reducing unwanted groundwater effects.

The use of numerical groundwater models can entail differing levels of spatial resolution (one-dimensional, two-dimensional along a horizontal or vertical plane, three-dimensional) and complexity (steady-state/transient, saturated/unsaturated), depending on the specific issue and on the available data.

Vertical-plane calculations are suitable for groundwater flows that occur with elongated building structures with largely unchanging hydraulic boundary conditions and presumably negligible flow normal to the computational plane (e.g. flow through a canal or river embankment). In the case of flows with a free groundwater surface where the part of the model domain which is saturated with water is not known in advance or changes during the time period observed, a saturated/unsaturated numerical flow calculation is carried out (e.g. to determine the impact of floods or rapid water level fluctuations on the flow through an embankment). In the unsaturated zone, the functional interrelationship between pore water pressure, degree of saturation and hydraulic conductivity must be taken into account. Given that these relationships of soil hydraulics are non-linear, the numerical calculation requires much more time and effort than in the case of completely water-saturated flows.

3D numerical calculation of the groundwater flow is required if the geometric situation or the hydraulic boundary conditions result in a pronounced 3D flow field that cannot be represented adequately by simplified groundwater models. This is usually the case, for example, with groundwater modelling of flows around a building structure to determine the forces resulting from groundwater pressure and flow. Three-dimensional modelling, particularly when taking account of saturated/unsaturated flows, requires an in-depth knowledge of geohydraulics and the relevant numerical computational methods, together with extensive experience in modelling.

Numerical Methods

Grundwasser­modelle

Grundlage für die Berechnung von Grundwasser- und Sickerwasserströmungen ist ihre Beschreibung mit Hilfe mathematischer Modelle. Zur Bearbeitung komplexer geohydraulischer Fragestellungen stellen numerische Berechnungsverfahren auf Grundlage der Finite-Elemente-Methode (FEM) oder der Finite-Differenzen-Methode (FDM) ein geeignetes Instrumentarium dar. Mit diesen numerischen Modellen lassen sich die räumliche Variabilität des Baugrunds und der äußeren Zuflüsse sowie die Änderung der Wassersättigungsverhältnisse berücksichtigen. Numerische Grundwasserströmungsmodelle werden zur Untersuchung unterschiedlicher Fragestellungen verwendet, z. B. zur:

  • Ermittlung der Auswirkung von Maßnahmen an Wasserstraßen auf die großräumigen Grundwasserverhältnisse,
  • Durchführung von Variantenuntersuchungen zur Minimierung unerwünschter Auswirkungen von Baumaßnahmen auf das bestehende Grundwasserregime,
  • Ermittlung der aus der Grundwasserströmung auf den Baugrund und das Bauwerk resultierenden Kräfte und
  • Untersuchung geeigneter Grundwasserhaltungs- oder -entspannungsmaßnahmen zur Reduzierung der Einwirkungen.

Je nach Fragestellung und Datengrundlage erfolgt die Untersuchung der Grundwasserströmung auf Grundlage numerischer Modelle unterschiedlicher räumlicher Auflösung (eindimensional, zweidimensional horizontal- oder vertikal-eben, dreidimensional) und Komplexität (stationär - instationär, gesättigt - ungesättigt).

Vertikal-ebene Berechnungen eignen sich für Grundwasserströmungen, die bei lang gestreckten Bauwerken mit wenig veränderlichen hydraulischen Randbedingungen auftreten und bei denen die Strömungskomponente senkrecht zu der Berechnungsebene vernachlässigbar ist (z. B. Dammdurchströmung). Bei Strömungen mit freier Grundwasseroberfläche, bei denen der wassergesättigte Modellbereich vorab nicht bekannt ist oder sich im Verlauf des betrachteten Zeitabschnittes verändert, erfolgt eine gesättigt-ungesättigte numerische Strömungsberechnung (z. B. zur Ermittlung der Auswirkungen von Hochwasser oder schnellen Wasserspiegelschwankungen auf die Dammdurchströmung). Im ungesättigten Bereich ist der funktionale Zusammenhang zwischen Porenwasserdruck, Sättigungsgrad und hydraulischer Durchlässigkeit zu berücksichtigen. Aufgrund der Nichtlinearität dieser bodenhydraulischen Beziehungen ist die numerische Berechnung deutlich aufwendiger als bei vollständig wassergesättigten Strömungen.

Eine dreidimensionale, numerische Berechnung der Grundwasserströmung ist erforderlich, wenn sich aufgrund der geometrischen Verhältnisse oder der hydraulischen Randbedingungen ein ausgeprägt dreidimensionales Strömungsfeld einstellt, das durch vereinfachte Grundwassermodelle nicht adäquat abgebildet werden kann. Dies ist zum Beispiel bei der Grundwassermodellierung von Bauwerksumströmungen zur Ermittlung der aus Grundwasserdruck- und -strömung resultierenden Kräfte meist der Fall. Dreidimensionale Modellierungen, insbesondere unter Berücksichtigung gesättigt-ungesättigter Strömungen, erfordern vertiefte geohydraulische Kenntnisse und der zugrunde liegenden numerischen Berechnungsmethoden sowie Erfahrung in der Modellierung.

Numerische Verfahren