Groundwater

The Groundwater section deals with groundwater issues relating to the planning, approval, construction and maintenance of hydraulic structures for the federal waterways. Areas it focuses on include determining the impact of groundwater pressure and groundwater flow on structures and excavations, forecasting and analysing the effect of construction work on groundwater conditions and assessing the stability of dams. Its work ranges from devising and evaluating groundwater exploration methods through to designing and dimensioning excavation pit concepts and groundwater drainage systems and appropriately preserving evidence of the measures taken.

To this end, the section draws up expert reports and advisory statements and consults the Federal Waterways and Shipping Administration (WSV) in all project phases, from the preliminary draft and project approval through to the construction phase. Depending on the involved issues and the available data, the analyses are based on simplified analytical or numerical groundwater flow models of varying complexity (1D / 2D / 3D, steady state / transient, saturated / unsaturated).

One area on which the section’s applied research focuses is investigating the interaction between porous flow and stress-strain behaviour of different soil types, particularly in terms of the danger posed by hydraulic heave. Another key area of research looks at various issues relating to the interaction between surface water and groundwater in inland and coastal waterways. It also leads research projects studying questions about identifying the hydraulic anisotropy of aquifers and the in situ activity of substances in water that are harmful to concrete.

9

Grundwasser

Grundwasserfragestellungen bei Planung, Genehmigung, Bau und Unterhaltung von Bauwerken der Bundeswasserstraßen werden im Referat Grundwasser bearbeitet. Schwerpunkte bilden dabei die Ermittlung der Beeinflussung von Bauwerken und Baugruben durch Grundwasserdruck und Grundwasserströmung, die Prognose und Bewertung der Auswirkungen von Baumaßnahmen auf die Grundwasserverhältnisse und die Beurteilung der Standsicherheit von Dämmen. Dabei reicht das Spektrum der Aufgaben von der Konzeption und Auswertung von Grundwassererkundungen über den Entwurf und die Dimensionierung von Baugrubenkonzepten und Grundwasserhaltungen bis zur fachspezifischen Beweissicherung der Maßnahmen.

Dazu erarbeitet das Referat Gutachten und Stellungnahmen und berät die WSV in allen Projektphasen vom Vorentwurf über die Genehmigung der Vorhaben bis hin zur Bauausführung. Je nach Fragestellung und Datengrundlage erfolgen die Untersuchungen auf Grundlage vereinfachter analytischer oder numerischer Grundwasserströmungsmodelle unterschiedlicher Komplexität (1D, 2D, 3D, stationär - instationär, gesättigt - ungesättigt).

Einen zentralen Arbeitsbereich der anwendungsbezogenen Forschung des Referates bilden verschiedene Fragestellungen zur Interaktion von Oberflächenwasser und Grundwasser an Binnen- und Küstenwasserstraßen. Daneben stellen Untersuchungen zur Wechselwirkung zwischen Porenströmung und Verformung unterschiedlicher Böden, insbesondere auch zum hydraulischen Grundbruch, einen weiteren Schwerpunkt der Forschungstätigkeit dar. Weiterhin werden Fragestellungen zur Identifizierung der hydraulischen Anisotropie von Grundwasserleitern sowie zur in situ Aktivität von betonaggressiven Wasserinhaltsstoffen im Rahmen von Forschungsprojekten bearbeitet.

Themen Geotechnik