Automated Normal Water Level Control

Numerous rivers in Germany are impounded, primarily to improve conditions for shipping and also for generating energy. Efficient optimized operation of weirs, power stations and locks demands extensively automated operation. In this context, the BAW is currently involved in various barrages at the rivers Mosel, Neckar and Saar.

Automated control of a barrage requires configuration of the parameters for the control system. An OW/Q controller, which combines water level control (OW) with inflow into the controlled system (Q), is state of the art in this field. The control technology parameters must be adapted to local conditions and, in particular, must ensure that the actuator "weir" is moved as little as possible. It is not possible to derive these parameters from the operation of a barrage; they must be provided in advance. The BAW solves this task by simulating hydraulics and control technology together on the MATLAB/SIMULINK development platform.

For the hydraulic behaviour of the impoundment the unsteady flow modeling system CasControl is used, while the actuators weir and power station are mapped in the form of characteristic curves. The instrumentation, control and adjustment variables are networked together with the results obtained on site using control system and signal processing methods.

Automatisierte Stauziel­regelung

Zahlreiche Flüsse in Deutschland sind staugeregelt, vorrangig zur Verbesserung der Schifffahrtsverhältnisse und zur Energieerzeugung. Ein effizienter bzw. optimierter Betrieb von Wehr, Kraftwerk und Schleusen erfordert, sie weitestgehend automatisiert zu betreiben. Die BAW ist diesbezüglich derzeit an verschiedenen Stauhaltungen an Mosel, Neckar, Main und Saar tätig.

Die automatisierte Steuerung und Regelung einer Staustufe erfordert die Parametrisierung der Leittechnik. Eine OW/Q Regelung ist hier Stand der Technik, die eine Wasserstandsregelung (OW-Anteil) mit dem Zufluss in die Regelstrecke kombiniert (Q-Anteil). Die Parameter der Leittechnik müssen an die örtlichen Verhältnisse angepasst werden und insbesondere berücksichtigen, dass das Stellorgan Wehr möglichst wenig bewegt wird. Diese Parameter können nicht aus dem Betrieb der Staustufe abgeleitet werden, sie müssen vorab bereitge-stellt werden. Zur Lösung dieser Aufgabe bedient sich die BAW der gemeinsamen Simulation von Hydraulik und Leittechnik auf der Entwicklungsplattform MATLAB/SIMULINK.

Das hydraulische Verhalten der Stauhaltung wird über das hydronumerische Verfahren CasControl abgebildet, während Wehr und Kraftwerk in Form von Kennlinien hinterlegt sind. Ebenso wie vor Ort werden die Mess-, Regel- und Stellgrößen im System über Methoden der Regelungstechnik und Signalverarbeitung miteinander vernetzt.