Infrastructure Management

The German Federal Waterways and Shipping Administration (WSV) owns a large and diverse portfolio of structures, whose total value currently exceeds 50 billion euro. Owing to the relatively long period that is necessary for the planning and implementation of maintenance measures, obsolescence and investment backlogs are two of the main challenges currently faced by infrastructure operators.

An Infrastructure management enables an early identification, evaluation and prioritization of required repair measures, and thus, is an essential tool in addressing this backlogged maintenance. However, high-quality data, targeted preparation and a structured as well as transparent approach are necessary of the achievement of this goal.

The required information encompasses fundamental data about current condition up to data about cost for repair and renewal measures. To a great extent, the increasing integration of data collection and management into business processes will replace manual entry, and thus, help to optimise these processes. Building Information Modelling (BIM) is also expected to make a major contribution to enhancing data quality.

Actual comprehensive condition data, collected during regular inspections of hydraulic structures, are nowadays available. Obtaining key condition data from the assessment of individual damage enables information to be prepared in condensed form to support decision-makers. A sophisticated condition forecast method allows the change in structural condition over time to be estimated and the right timing for technical interventions to be determined. Key figures for potential measures are currently being developed and criteria that may assist decision-making are being formulated.

Building on this, a structured and transparent approach will require the determination of criteria for the prioritization of measures, taking into account structural engineering as well as economic factors. As perspective, risk-based approaches that are currently being developed in partnership with universities within the framework of the BMVI’s Network of Experts, will be integrated in the prioritization process. Furthermore, particular attention must always be paid in this regard to the waterways’ network structure, which offers little redundancy and little scope for bypassing.

Structural Engineering Topics

Infrastrukturmanagement

Die Wasserstraßen- und Schifffahrtsverwaltung verfügt über ein großes und vielfältiges Portfolio an baulichen Anlagen. Der Wert dieser Anlagen beträgt mehr als 50 Mrd. €. Überalterung und Investitionsstau stellen in der heutigen Zeit eine der größten Herausforderungen an Infrastrukturbetreiber dar, vor allem vor dem Hintergrund langer Planungs- und Ausführungszeiten.

Ein Erhaltungsmanagement dient dem frühzeitigen Erkennen, Bewerten und Priorisieren der erforderlichen Instandsetzungsmaßnahmen und ist damit ein unverzichtbares Instrument, um dieser Herausforderung zu begegnen. Dabei sind qualitativ hochwertige Daten, eine zielorientierte Aufbereitung sowie eine strukturierte und transparente Herangehensweise wesentliche Grundlagen.

Die erforderlichen Daten reichen von Grundlagendaten über Zustandsdaten bis hin zu Daten über Kosten von Instandsetzungs- und Neubaumaßnahmen. Die Integration der Datenerfassung und -pflege in Geschäftsprozesse soll zukünftig zunehmend die manuelle Erfassung ablösen und so zur Optimierung der Geschäftsprozesse beitragen. Perspektivisch wird auch Building Information Modeling (BIM) einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Optimierung der Datenqualität leisten.

Aktuell liegen Zustandsdaten von Verkehrswasserbauwerken, die durch regelmäßige Inspektionen gewonnen werden, flächendeckend vor. Durch die Gewinnung von Zustandskennzahlen aus Einzelschadensbewertungen können kondensierte Informationen für Entscheidungsträger aufbereitet werden. Ein entwickeltes Zustandsprognose-Verfahren ermöglicht eine Abschätzung der weiteren Entwicklung des Zustands sowie die Ermittlung eines technischen Eingreifzeitpunktes. Aktuell werden Kennwerte für potentielle Maßnahmen ermittelt und Kriterien zur Entscheidungsfindung erarbeitet.

Aufbauend darauf erfordert eine strukturierte und transparente Herangehensweise die Festlegung von Kriterien für die Priorisierung von Maßnahmen unter Berücksichtigung von bautechnischen und ökonomischen Gesichtspunkten. Perspektivisch sollen Risikoansätze in die Priorisierung einfließen, die derzeit in Zusammenarbeit mit Hochschulen und im Rahmen des BMVI-Expertennetzwerkes erarbeitet werden. Besondere Betrachtung erfordert dabei immer die Netzstruktur der Wasserstraßen mit geringer Redundanz und wenigen Umfahrungsmöglichkeiten.

Themen Bautechnik