River engineering

Morphological factors often play a key role in the operation, maintenance and improvement of federal waterways. Morphological processes are significantly influenced by hydraulics (discharge distribution, flow velocities, flow depths) as well as grain-size composition and riverbed structure. As a result, river training structures (e.g. groynes and longitudinal dykes) and sediment management are essential components of a well-functioning waterway infrastructure.

Designing, planning and supporting river engineering measures requires very specific knowledge. Successful execution of ongoing monitoring and detailed analysis of natural and man-made processes ensures an extraordinarily high degree of understanding, making these factors crucial components of successful river engineering. Special challenges arise from the growing importance of ecological issues along rivers.

In addition to carrying out wide-ranging field measurements, both computational and physical models are used to analyse, assess and plan river engineering measures. The BAW’s state-of-the-art infrastructure can run numerical models that are both large-scale (up to 300 km) and long-term (up to 50 years or more). One-, two-and three-dimensional models of flow and sediment transport are employed as needed. Physical models are and will remain an essential tool for tackling particularly complex river engineering problems (e. g. river morphodynamics). All of these models expand our understanding of how river engineering measures impact flow and sediment transport in rivers. In addition, laboratory investigations allow us to gain valuable insights and collect comparative data to support the further development of our computational methods.

Recently, hybrid models are also increasingly being put to use. These combine the advantages of both methods – the computational model’s efficiency with the physical model’s ability to map highly complex physical mechanisms.

Hydraulic Engineering Topics

9

Flussbau

Beim Betrieb, der Unterhaltung und für den Ausbau der Bundeswasserstraßen spielen oftmals morphologische Fragestellungen eine zentrale Rolle. Die morphologischen Prozesse werden maßgeblich von der Hydraulik (Abflussverteilung, Strömungsgeschwindigkeiten, Fließtiefen) sowie der Kornzusammensetzung und dem Aufbau des Flussbetts beeinflusst. Die flussbauliche Regelung (z. B. Buhnen und Längswerke) sowie die Sedimentbewirtschaftung sind daher wesentliche Bestandteile einer funktionierenden Infrastruktur Wasserstraße.

Eine zielführende Konzeption, Planung und Begleitung flussbaulicher Maßnahmen setzt ein hohes Maß an spezifischem Prozessverständnis voraus. Das fortwährende Monitoring und die damit einhergehende Analyse natürlicher und anthropogen induzierter Vorgänge sind daher zentrale Bausteine erfolgreicher flussbaulicher Arbeit. Besondere Herausforderungen ergeben sich durch die zunehmende Bedeutung ökologischer Fragestellungen entlang der Flüsse.

Für die Analyse, Bewertung und Planung flussbaulicher Maßnahmen werden, neben der Durchführung vielfältiger Naturmessungen, sowohl numerische als auch gegenständliche Modelle eingesetzt. Die moderne Infrastruktur der BAW ermöglicht den Einsatz großräumig (bis über 300 km) und auch langfristig orientierter (bis über 50 Jahre) numerischer Modelle. Bedarfsorientiert werden hierbei ein- bis dreidimensionale Strömungs- und Feststofftransportmodelle eingesetzt. Bei besonders komplexen flussbaulichen Fragestellungen, zum Beispiel beim Geschiebetransport, sind gegenständliche Modellversuche aktuell und auch zukünftig ein unverzichtbares Werkzeug. Sie erweitern unser Wissen über die Wirkung flussbaulicher Maßnahmen auf die Strömung und den Sedimenttransport in Flüssen. In Laborversuchseinrichtungen gewinnen wir darüber hinaus wertvolle Erkenntnisse und Vergleichsdaten zur Weiterentwicklung unserer numerischen Verfahren.

In jüngster Zeit werden auch vermehrt hybride Modelle eingesetzt, die Vorteile beider Verfahren – Effizienz der numerischen Verfahren und die Fähigkeit von gegenständlichen Modellen, sehr komplexe physikalische Mechanismen abzubilden - vereinen.

Themen Wasserbau